Science, Medicine and Industry - Innovating for the Future
ASAIO Journal
ASAIO Journal
Access the ASAIO Journal
Join The Conversation

ASAIO Journal is very pleased to announce that our 2021 Impact Factor is 3.826!

Access the ASAIO Journal

Mark S Slaughter, MD, Editor
Mark S Slaughter, MD
Professor & Chair
Thoracic & CV Surgery
University of Louisville
Associate Editor
Daniel Schneditz, PhD, Associate Editor
Daniel Schneditz, PhD
Graz, Austria
Jaimin Trivedi, MD, MPH, Biostatistics
Jaimin Trivedi, MD, MPH
Louisville, KY

Michelle Gaffney, Managing Editor
Tel. 443.685.5413

ASAIO Journal benefits authors in the following ways:

Visit the ASAIO Journal online to view the current issue, Editor’s Pick, most viewed content, online collections including Top Cited papers, ASAIO Conference Abstracts and more. Sign up for email alerts or RSS feeds for the online Table of Contents (e-TOC) and Online First (ahead-of-print) postings.

Highlighted Content:

All Case reports, Brief Communications, How to do it articles, and Letters to the Editor are published FREE upon publication. In addition, all ASAIO Journal content is now freely available on the journal website after a one-year embargo period has passed. During the embargo period, only ASAIO members and non-member subscribers to the ASAIO Journal will be able to access the full-text articles. This new policy will expand the accessibility of the journal while preserving the benefits of ASAIO membership.

ASAIO Journal has been fortunate to experience an increase in submissions and Impact Factor over the last several years. The current Impact Factor is 2.872! Dr. Slaughter thanks our editors, authors and reviewers for their significant contributions to the journal!

Follow ASAIO Journal on Social Media!
Facebook | Twitter | LinkedIn | Instgram | YouTube

Check the ASAIO Journal online for dates and details on our quarterly journal webinar series, developed with CTSNet!

Section Editors

Adult Circulatory Support:
Peter Eckman, MD, Minneapolis, MN
Keshava Rajagopal, MD, PhD, Houston, TX
Leora B. Balsam, MD, Worcester, MA
Biomedical Engineering:
Amy Throckmorton, PhD, Philadelphia, PA
Choon-Sik Joseph Jhun, PhD, Hershey, PA
Clinical Cardiovascular:
Claudius Mahr, DO, Seattle, WA
Michele Gallo, MD, Lugano, Switzerland
David A. Baran, MD, Virginia Beach, VA
Clinical Critical Care:
Steven A. Conrad, MD, PhD, Shreveport, LA
Kandis Adkins, MD, Louisville, KY
Pediatric Circulatory Support:
Robert D.B. Jaquiss, MD, Dallas, TX
Jennifer Conway, MD, Edmonton, Canada
ASAIO Project Bionics:
Mark Kurusz, BA, CCP, Austin, TX
Bryan Whitson, MD, PhD, Columbus, OH
Renal/Extracorporeal Blood Treatment:
Lenar Yessayan, MS, MD, Ann Arbor, MI
Tissue Engineering / Biomaterials:
Christopher A. Siedlecki, PhD
Special Papers:
Egemen Tuzun, MD, PhD, College Station, TX
Dmitry Abramov, MD, Loma Linda, CA
Hari R. Mallidi, MD, Boston, MA
Social Media Council:
Marta Velia Antonini, CCN, CCP, Parma, Italy
Nandan Kumar Mondal, PhD, Houston, TX
Jaimin Trivedi, MD, MPH, Louisville, KY

Editorial Board

Iki Adachi, MD
Houston, TX
Cristiano Amarelli, MD
Naples, Italy
Stephen Ash, MD
Lafayette, IN
Pavan Atluri, MD
Philadelphia, PA
Matthew Bacchetta, MD
Nashville, TN
Cindy S. Barrett, MD, MPH
Aurora, CO
Victor van Berkel, MD, PhD
Louisville, KY
Christian Bermudez, MD
Philadelphia, PA
Alejandro Bribriesco, MD
Cleveland, OH
Daniel Brodie, MD
New York, NY
Lars Mikael Broman, MD
Stockholm, Sweden
Benjamin S. Bryner, MD
Durham, NC
Daniele Camboni, MD
Regensburg, Germany
Guistina Casagrande, PhD
Milano, Italy
Richard Chan, BS, CCP
Great Neck, NY
Filippo Consolo, PhD
Milan, Italy
Jennifer Cowger, MD
Detroit, MI
Mani A. Daneshmand, MD
Atlanta, GA
Filip De Somer, PhD
Ghent, Belium
Anthony Del Rossi, MD
Camden, NJ
Jun Ding, PhD
Santa Clara, CA
Peter Eckman, MD
Minneapolis, MN
Matthew P. Fox, MD
Louisville, KYPeter
Kiyotaka Fukamachi, MD, PhD
Cleveland, OH
Tibor Fülöp, MD, PhD
Charleston, SC
Alice Gallo de Moraes, MD
Rochester, MN
A. Reshad Garan, MD
Boston, MA
Guruprasad Giridharan, PhD
Louisville, KY
Ankit Gupta, MD
Norwich, CT
Nicholas Hoenich, PhD
Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Susan Hupp, MD, MSCR
Atlanta, GA
Abram D. Janis, MD
Chicago, IL
Herbert F. Janssen, MEd, PhD
El Paso, TX
Marina Kameneva, PhD
Pittsburgh, PA
Akira T. Kawaguchi, MD, PhD
Kanagawa, Japan
Deborah Kozik, MD
Louisville, KY
Scott Lick, MD
Tucson, AZ
Antonio Loforte, MD, PhD
Bologna, Italy
Frantisek Lopot, PhD
Strahov, Czech Republic
Timothy M. Maul, PhD, CCP
Orlando, FL
Karen May-Newman, PhD
San Diego, CA
Jeffrey S. Miller, MD
Atlanta, GA
William Paulson, MD
Augusta, GA
Giles J. Peek, MD
Gainesville, FL
Joseph Potkay, PhD
Ann Arbor, MIHouston, TX
Lakshmi Raman, MD
Dallas, TX
Olaf Reinhartz, MD
Stanford, CA
Mark Rodefeld, MD
Indianapolis, IN
Susan Shea, PhD
St. Louis, MO
Andrew R. Sifain, MD
Rochester, NY
Marvin J. Slepian, MD
Tucson, AZ
Justyna Swol, MD, PhD
Nuremberg, Germany
Ram Kumar Subramanyan, MD, PhD
Los Angeles, CA
Hiroo Takayama, MD, PhD
New York, NY
Veli K. Topkara, MD, MSc
New York, NY
John Valdovinos, PhD
Northridge, CA
Joerg Vienken, PhD
Usingen, Hessen, Germany
Dongfang Wang, MD, PhD
Lexington, KY
William J. Weiss, PhD
Hershey, PA
Zhongjun Wu, PhD
Baltimore, MD
Daniel Zimpfer, MD, MBA
Vienna, Austria
ASAIO fyi Member
Staci Jessen, PhD
College Station, TX

Emeritus Editorial Board Member:
Robert Bartlett, MD

Editors Emeritus:
Joseph B Zwischenberger, MD - Editor 2004 - 2013
Eli A Friedman, MD - Editor 1986 - 2003
George E Schreiner, MD - Editor 1957 - 1985

The ASAIO "Gold Book" is available online: Gold Book.pdf
Published in 2004 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the founding of ASAIO, the "Gold Book" reviews the Society’s history, compiles a bibliography of 120 key articles, and provides 25 annotated reproductions of landmark papers published during the first 50 years of ASAIO.